Seasonal Thyme Retreat Experience luxury in the County

Reviews

Beautiful country home5/5 Stars

Just as advertised, this home is very charming, very clean and a great spot to get away. Had all amenities (full kitchen, tv, wifi, great bath tub).

The wooden stairs going up to Master bedroom and tv area are a little steep/slippery so I would caution a family with small children but otherwise a beautiful home with a nice large property. Sandbanks and downtown Picton approximately 25 minute drive. Some great restaurants around PEC.


Ellen R. - 15/11/2018

A relaxing getaway!5/5 Stars

Sue; We had a fantastic time at seasonal thyme retreat during the september long weekend!Things we absolutely loved:1. the pictures on your website don't do your place justice as the house itself is spacious with the vaulted ceilings adding to the spacey feel. The house itself was roomy; but cosy at the same time.2. love the way you decorated the place. It feels cottagy; homey and classy all at once. You have a keen sense of design and compliment it with the furnishings; that are both beautiful and functional.3. love the view of the lake from the front porch... feels like a retreat and that we're in another world just looking out on the water.4. love the fact that your beside an organic farm as we sourced both meats ( sausages; t bone steaks; eggs) as well as beautiful veggies and homemade salsa and ketchup from the honour system food shed.5. house was well stocked with all the pots; pans; plates that made it a home away from home etc….We look forward to staying with you again in the near future!!!Mark; Michele and Abby.


mark n. - 15/09/2018

Amazing sunsets and close to the beach!5/5 Stars

The rental was very comfortable for two couples. The property is huge and offers amazing sunsets from the front porch with a view of the water in the distance. Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. A short drive to North Beach and Strato pizzeria for some takeout!


Nick G. - 16/08/2018

Family time!4/5 Stars

We really enjoyed our stay at Seasonal Thyme. The house is cozy and charming; the front and backyard are just breathtaking and so fun to run for our 17 months daughter! We had sunsets on the porch; we saw shooting stars; and really enjoyed the cool breeze at night after long and warm days. The house is well equipped and nothing was missing; except may be a washing machine. The only other downside was to manage the garbage everyday. Other than that; everything was perfect in the house; our daughter really enjoyed making conversation with all the dogs decoration! She had place to spend her energy and we all had space to enjoy quiet time if needed. A special thanks to Sue who really helped us when we had to see a doctor (and everything was OK!). We are back with great memories!


julie r. - 15/08/2018

Beautiful property!! Will definitely be back!5/5 Stars

The property is beautiful and looks exactly like the photos. Everything was clean and in working order. Would definitely recommend to anyone and hope to be back again so


Courtney H. - 14/08/2018

Just as advertised beautiful home with all the amenities5/5 Stars

The owner, Sue, couldn’t be more helpful and her home suited us perfectly. Can’t wait to go back!


Helen C. - 19/07/2018

Great cottage!!4/5 Stars

We rented this cottage for 3 nights; and we were really satisfied of our stay. Plenty of places for 2 couples!Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances; utensils; pot/pans; etc. that you could need (you don’t need to bring anything from home)!Well decorated and really clean inside (I am a bit clean freak; and I was really pleased). This cottage is breathtaking! We had brought toilet paper; tissues and paper towels just in case but did not need them since they were provided as well as all the cleaning supplies and garbage bags.The location is perfect tough we thought that we would be closer to the water as per the pictures we saw on the Internet but no big deal.15-minute drive from downtown were you find restaurants and grocery stores; 30-minute drive from Sandbanks beaches.We went for brunch at Isaiah tubs and did not like it at all… buffet was empty. You had 4 or 5 choices; and it was not really good. You pay almost 20$; and the coffee is not even included!On another side; we went for dinner at tomasso’s and it was AMAZING! Nice modern restaurant; great food and drinks.The 3 downsides of the cottage were:1. When we arrived; we noticed a LOT of spider nests on the front porch/backyard. You are OK during the day but at night it was awful. We did not enjoy the fire pit or the porch after night fall since they all came out; and I am not talking about small itsy bitsy spiders… they were scary big! You really should spray insecticides at least on the front porch and in the backyard. This was the big downer!!!2. Even though it said that we could use the washer and dryer we did not have access since they were in a locked part of the cottage (it looks like there is a separate apartment in the basement; but no one was there).3. No wardrobe to hang our clothes in both bedrooms since they are locked.


Maxine L. - 15/07/2018

Great weekend in wine country5/5 Stars

We were in the County for a weekend of wine-tasting and wakeboarding and stayed two nights at this country home that exceeded all of our expectations. Both the inside and outside were beautifully designed and maintained. We also took full advantage of the fire pit in the back. We would definitely stay here again.


Brendan C. - 15/07/2018

Welcome to paradise5/5 Stars

Sue's place is just amazing! It is very well decorated and perfectly maintained (outside and inside). The garden is huge and peaceful! The 2 rooms are very nice, comfortable and big. The sunset on the terrace in front of the house is stunning, you will enjoy the barbecue for sure just before dusk. On top of that, the communication with Sue was very easy!


Victor K. - 10/07/2018

Lovely! Clean. Comfortable. Enjoyable. So much room. Perfect kitchen5/5 Stars

We loved the location and the house. Our dogs loved running in the yard and they were welcomed so nicely by the owners. The kitchen and dining area were perfect. I have to cook my meals and it was a pleasure to work in this kitchen. The beds and bedrooms were perfect. We do not use feather pillows but had brought our own so that was not an issue. That could be an option they could offer but it was not a problem for us. There could be a few more reading lamps as that is something we love to do on holiday and it was a little dark at times. However, we loved that there were so many areas to escape to: the loft and the loveseat in the master bedroom were delightful. Also having two baths was fantastic and hot water was never an issue.

The home is conveniently located and everything was about 30-40 minutes away at the most. Loved looking at the countryside and the views.

We loved this location and look forward to another trip here!


Danielle H. - 01/07/2018

A beautiful home & close to all PEC has to offer. 5/5 Stars

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away in this beautiful home. Very comfortable, clean & well equipped. Close to all that PEC has to offer. Would definitely recommend this property!


Lisa A. - 09/06/2018

AMAZING!5/5 Stars

Beautiful place, gorgeous grounds, clean and comfortable. And so close to so much. Superb hosts. We will definitely be back.


Cherie D. - 18/05/2018

A Beautiful Respite and Oasis....5/5 Stars

After the recent passing of my Dear Old Dad - My husband and I decided to do a last minute getaway to relax. Well i spent hours researching and forgot I had saved Seasonal Thyme Retreat in my Favorites folder. I am glad I reached out quickly to the owner, Sue, who was extremely caring and responsive. We were able to book it last minute and the process was seamless. From the moment we arrived I knew we could both just exhale....we lit a fire and just had a glass of wine with our fur girls; shared memories of my Dad, laughed and felt so relaxed. This place is a true gem from the land, landscaping, the home, the luxurious beds and so much more! Even when we had a small issue, Sue was very quick to respond and fix the issue. What i also loved about the place was although its on a 3 acre property, it's not too isolated; amenities are close by and everything so easily accessible. There was a trail close by to walk our dogs. Although the pain of my Dad passing will remain for a lifetime, I now have the beauty of Seasonal Thyme retreat and our exhale weekend away to ease and soften that pain and remain as a beautiful memory for this time. I look forward to coming back in a more happier time to enjoy this beautiful oasis in Prince Edward County! Thanks Sue, luv Malki Gary and fur girls Soca and Cali. (btw Soca and Cali loved their treats that you left for them)


Mrs. L - 18/04/2018

Fantastic property. Will rent it again5/5 Stars

Seasonal Thyme Retreat was amazing. Not only was it as advertised but it went beyond - it was fully appointed so that you really only needed to show up. Sue was amazing and even arranged that the lane way was plowed when an unexpected snowfall occurred and was thoughtful enough to have a few dog treats on hand. Will definitely be back and have recommended the place to friends and family.


Laura R. - 17/12/2017

Welcoming; warm and comfortable5/5 Stars

We love a kitchen that you can create a meal in, a living space to relax, a fire for the ambience, a bedroom that is clean and comfortable, bathrooms that provide a space as well as function; a home that is well charactered, and a location that is far enough away to be private but close enough to be accessible. We found it here. Further, Sue is a pleasure to deal with. We spent a lovely New Years at this retreat and look forward to coming back in the summer. We love Prince Edward County and highly recommend this property. You will be thrilled. Steve and Kelli


Steve S. - 17/12/2017

Quaint & comfy5/5 Stars

My second visit to The Seasonal Thyme -- such a quaint home and very well equipped.Love wandering through Prince Edward County and the location is very convenient.I highly recommend it!


Melodee M. - 17/10/2017

Great getaway!4/5 Stars

Eclectic home located on beautiful property with a great view. Well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and very clean. Only strange thing was having to bring all our garbage home...or at least off property. And lots of stores, restaurants were closed during the long weekend.


Debbie P. - 17/10/2017

An Amazing Place to stay5/5 Stars

The property is all one could hope for and more. Rooms are large and very comfortable for 4 people. The property is decorated with many different flowers and the scenery, as the sun sets, is remarkable. Close to golf courses, Wineries, beaches and towns. This is a 5 star place to stay. Lack of air conditioning could be a factor in the heat of the summer, for our stay it was not necessary.


Robert S. - 17/08/2017

Beautiful Sunsets!4/5 Stars

This place is stunning! The home is clean; comfortable and beautiful. My husband and I went with our two little boys and they loved it. We especially loved the sunsets on the porch. What a view! Gorgeous!! We visited the sandbanks and surrounding farm markets. What a lovely stay we had in the county. We will definitely be back!


Angela M. - 17/07/2017

Great!5/5 Stars

Amazing.The view is beautiful.


Sandra J. - 17/07/2017

Great place to stay!4/5 Stars

Wonderful views, all necessary amenities and cosy. A little out of the way from main towns. But overall worth the drive.


PRIMO L. - 17/05/2017

Wonderful property in Prince Edwad County5/5 Stars

My husband and I spent Easter long weekend at this beautiful house. As many other guests wrote, pictures don't do justice. This place is very unique, every corner has a lovely detail and touch. It is extremely cozy and clean. We only had to bring food. Everything else was provided, including bedding and towels. Having indoor fireplace on chilly nights was a big plus. Firewood is also provided and there is plenty both inside the house and on the front porch. We also used the BBQ to cook dinners. Watching the sunset from the porch and having a view of the lake was very charming. The owner, Sue; was very pleasant and she was in touch with us both at the arrival and the departure to ensure everything was well and that we were satisfied. We would definitely recommend this property to our family and friends and we would return in near future.


Oga O. - 17/04/2017

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!5/5 Stars

We rented this cottage as a girls get away during this past labour day long weekend. We had heard about nightmares of people renting cottages and arriving to find that the cottage either did not exist or was nothing like what they thought they were paying for.Fortunately; for us we had the opposite outcome!The cottage was even more incredible than we could have expected. Sue is a truly gifted decorator. Every inch of the cottage had something special to look at; from vintage mirrors & stone shower in the down stairs bathroom; to a little doggy hide out under the main stair case and a blue tooth Harmen/Karmon speaker for playing music from your cell phone or Ipod. The many little added touches kept us smiling with each discovery.Everything was spotless; fully stocked (beyond expectations) and extremely comfortable. There was tons of fire wood available; the grounds are large and beautifully landscaped. What more could you ask for.And what a view!Spending our mornings and evenings sipping coffee or wine while sitting on the large covered from porch was really the highlight of our vacation.Sue also welcomes dogs (she even left a welcome gift of all natural treats for our dog) which was a must for us as my sister has a large elderly dog who could not be left at boarding a facility. He loved slowly investigating the grounds and laying on the porch with us. Making this trip even more special and memorable.We will certainly be going back many more times & HIGHLY recommend this wonderful cottage to anyone.Thank you again Sue!


Heather W. - 16/09/2016

Absolutely beautiful property3/5 Stars

The property was beautiful and very well maintained! The furniture; rooms and decor were incredible. We absolutely loved the house and there was lots of room for the four of us. The kitchen has everything you need. The sunsets from the porch were stunning - lots of great photos to be taken! There is a view of the river from the property but the house is not within walking distance to the water - it was lovely to see the river though. The issue we had was that the week we booked there was a heat wave and this property has no air conditioning. There are fans but when the temperature hit upwards of 43 degrees in the house it was just too much. As a result of the heat; the grass and lawn were very hard and dry and we could not have a fire in the fire pit because there was a fire ban. It was my fault for not noticing when we booked that there was no air conditioning. We ended up cutting our vacation short and leaving early because the heat was inescapable. The last few nights there no one was able to sleep at all and we all felt sick from being so long in such high temperatures. Of course this is not the fault of the hosts - just our bad luck. I will definitely make sure that we book a place with air conditioning next time! Sue is a wonderful host and was very helpful over email prior to our arrival. Again - we loved the house. If we book again it will be in the fall when we can enjoy it in cooler weather! The one small thing that was a bit confusing for us was that we had to take our garbage with us as there is no garbage pick up. It would be helpful to post a list of places that we could take it. I would recommend this place without hesitation but if you book in the summer during a hot spell just note that you will cook!


heather w. - 16/08/2016

Seasonal Thyme is wonderful! We loved staying there.5/5 Stars

The house and gardens are beautiful; and we loved the wonderful view from the veranda.The description was accurate; but in reality the house is even lovelier than it appears on the website.It was clean and very well maintained. There are so many lovely touches in the house. It is beautifully appointed; with great care and humor.Sue was very hospitable. She answered all our questions; and came by when we first arrived to help us get oriented.We felt very much at home there.There are lots of wonderful towns to visit in the area. There are also beaches and parks close - by.If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay; we recommend Seasonal Thyme.


Karen R. - 16/07/2016

Wonderful Time!5/5 Stars

My friend and I and our doggies stayed at Seasonal Thyme Retreat during the July 1st long weekend. We were most impressed by the beautifully decorated; quaint and charming country get-away as well as the property it was on. It had a magnificent view of the bay and the sunsets were amazing. We even saw a deer run across the front lawn early one evening when we were sitting on the verandah! We cooked our own meals in the fully equipped kitchen and used the barbecue; enjoyed the comfort of our beautiful and spacious bedrooms; listened to the lovely CDs which were available to us and watched a couple of movies in the TV room. We would definitely stay at Seasonal Thyme Retreat again and would highly recommend it to anyone!


Carrie C. - 16/06/2016

Most incredible; peaceful retreat5/5 Stars

Sue's immaculate attention to detail when it comes to accommodations made this the perfect retreat for our family - the place was beautiful; perfectly furnished with vintage country touches and all modern amenities (see the bathrooms!) and conveniently located. The sunsets and sunrises were breathtaking; with views of the water off in the distance and lovely countryside all around. The night-time illumination of the property made the generous acreage even more stunning and enjoyable.We loved that Sue welcomed us with our pets; who truly enjoyed running up and down the grassy fields. Taking in all the fresh air; and sitting by the fire either indoors or out; made for amazing sleep each night in perfectly appointed bedrooms - I just can't say enough about the comforts provided! Thank you Sue - we will surely be back again!


Aleksandra G. - 16/05/2016

An amazing place to get rested and re-energized5/5 Stars

The listing description is fully accurate regarding the location; layout; amenities; etc.The property is extremely clean and well-maintained.Excellent restaurants in Wellington; most of the best wineries are close by.I have already recommend the property to couples of friends.Two minor details: 1. It would be great to have the minimum of cooking ingredients available; I am thinking of salt; oil; vinegar; and mustard. 2. I understand we need to take our garbage with us; but being provided with a list of places we could drop them would be very helpful (we found one in Picton).


thierry l. - 16/04/2016

Beyond Expectations!5/5 Stars

It was our first time at Seasonal Thyme Retreat and it will not be our last. It was tranquil country living with all the benefits and no inconveniences. Our one week vacation in early October was not long enough to see all of gorgeous Prince Edward County. Our touring included Thyme Again Gardens (right next door; certified organic; farm fresh food); Millennium Trail (just past Thyme Again Gardens; multi-purpose trail; former railway); two wineries; golfing; and Trenton only 10 minutes away.Inside and out; Seasonal Thyme Retreat is Better Homes and Gardens magazine come to life. Beautifully decorated and landscaped; it is clear Sue works hard to make sure her guests enjoy their stay. The beds and couches were comfy and the kitchen and bathrooms were well-appointed. The house was clean and spacious and the antiques were charming. The wood-burning fireplace; secluded back patio; large front porch; and THE VIEW were all so inviting.Sue; thanks for everything! We made many happy memories and look forward to our next visit.


Judy C. - 15/10/2015

Truly a beautiful place!5/5 Stars

We were delighted with the wonderful accomodations, the well appointed kitchen, the comfortable beds, the tasteful and playful décor, the delightful gardens and spacious grounds with a marvellous view of the Bay in the distance. I am always a little unsure about booking a stay with only a web page and a couple of reviews to go on, but this was more lovely than expected. Also, there is so much to see and do in PE County that our short stay was much too brief! Hope to be back again. Thanks Sue!


Pam H - 15/07/2015

Beautiful home and property; stunning sunsets!5/5 Stars

We would definitely recommend Seasonal Thyme to our friends and family and look forward to going back in the future. The home and property are very well maintained and clean; beautifully decorated. It was a great home base for our trip to the County. Sipping County wines on the front porch watching stunning sunsets is a perfect way to end your days. Sue was very responsive and helpful; easy to contact and quickly answered questions.


Jessica D. - 15/07/2015

An amazing vacation in PEC!5/5 Stars

We had such a great time on our vacation at Seasonal Thyme. Four adults stayed for two nights and it wasn't long enough! The pictures do not do the property justice. You can tell that a lot of thought and care went into decorating Seasonal Thyme. The place was immaculate when we arrived. The kitchen has everything you need (all of the tools to cook a beautiful dinner). There is a huge outdoor space which is lovely for sipping your morning coffee or having a meal outside. We're frequent visitors of PEC and we will absolutely be staying here again.


Anonymous - 15/06/2015

A perfect weekend retreat!5/5 Stars

A beautiful and well equipped weekend getaway. We had a fantastic time - beautiful space; comfortable beds; fully equipped kitchen; amazing gardens (and I am still a bit obsessed about the state of some of the plants inside - mine don't look anything like that!). My dog loved the garden - lots of room to play fetch. Places to sit in both sun and shade - and convenient for all the things you want to do in the County.


Heather S. - 15/05/2015

Country Charm!5/5 Stars

We were incredibly impressed with our stay at Sue's lovely cottage. We were far enough into the country that it felt quiet; calm; and peaceful- yet close enough to the wineries that there was plenty to do. There were plenty of supplies (towels; soaps; kitchen utensils) which we appreciated very much as we didn't waste our time worrying about what we forgot to bring! All in all; we loved our time here- thank you Sue!


Kathryn S. - 15/05/2015

Beautiful; Relaxing; Clean Stay5/5 Stars

What a beautiful property!We went with a another couple and the layout was perfect! The place was very clean; spacious and the grounds were immaculate.The key transfers were very easy. We did the wine tour with a local company and had a great time! I highly recommend this place to couples and families alike! It was such a great time my only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!!


Yolanda S. - 14/07/2014

Such a BEAUTIFUL and RELAXING place!!!!5/5 Stars

The pictures don't even do it justice.... it’s so beautiful and remote the property looks fake. As soon as you drive up the lane way there are sheep to greet you and a huge green lawn in the front and back with a beautiful view looking at the water from afar. The home itself was VERY clean and had a very home feel; nicely decorated and the perfect size for 2 couples. We immediately felt relaxed when we arrived. There is a boat launch where you can take a dip in the clear water about a 10 minute walk away; there is a fire pit in the back and if you have bikes or a canoe bring them…it’s the perfect spot!! The only thing that was a challenge was we had to remove our own garbage when we left and there were no garbage bags provided so make sure you bring your own bags and be prepared to remove ALL your garbage from the property when you go! Overall; it was an awesome weekend and we can’t wait to come back! Sue the owner was so nice and very accommodating! Thanks Sue!!!!!!!!!


Ashley S. - 14/07/2014

Picture Perfect5/5 Stars

The pictures don't do it justice. If you're looking for a great place to recharge the batteries less than two hours from Toronto--this is the place to do it.Perfect in every way. We'll definitely be back.


Will A. - 13/08/2013